To vent into the void

black-coffee-1867753_1920

 

So I begin my foray into the blogging world!

I suppose my first post calls for some sort of introduction to me but I’ll keep it brief. I think it more fun to let any readers unpick my personality as they go. I’m 29 years old and I live in Dublin, Ireland – which at the moment is grey and rainy and generally miserable.

So I sit with my coffee and appreciate the warmth and comfort of the indoors.

I have been sick forever (as long as I can remember) and I have been diagnosed with fibromyalgia, depression and anxiety. In addition to this, the latest of my medically unexplained symptoms has me undergoing testing for Lyme disease!

I have a keen interest in health, medicine and well-being, and given my own experience of illness I have a personal interest in helping and supporting others facing the same. I’m a firm believer in the power of peer support and I hope that through sharing my experiences others may find comfort and reassurance that they are not alone, that someone “gets it”, and that there is power in sharing our stories.

I also hope that by having somewhere to vent freely about how difficult life with chronic illness can be that I can improve my own well-being – and blogging is much cheaper than counselling!

Well that’s all for now. I’ll be back again soon.

A.

P.S. I take my coffee black.

 

 

 

Leave a comment